Wolverines energize IML honors lineup

Thursday, June 19, 2014 8:32 PM
Bayfield's Brody McGhehey (2) extends for a hit early in the 2014 season. McGhehey was one of five Wolverines named First Team All-IML.
Bayfield's Trey Lange (5) deals from the hill early in the 2014 season. Lange, now graduated, was one of five Wolverines named First Team All-IML.

A fluke off-day short-circuited Bayfield's 2014 baseball season. It was shocking not only to the Intermountain League - especially twice-routed Alamosa and Coach Jason Romero - but most teams within Class 3A.

But when the Wolverines were totally plugged in, the juice traveled swiftly, 1 to 9 in Jon Qualls' batting order. That juice usually transferred into the squad's fielding during a 16-4, IML-winning campaign. So when the All-IML Baseball roster was recently released, it came as no surprise that the electric core of BHS' lineup powered the talented First Team.

Senior Trey Lange (P/SS/UTIL), junior Matthew Knickerbocker (P/2B/SS) and sophomores Zane Phelps (3B/P), Kelton McCoy (C/1B/P) and Brody McGhehey (CF/P) joined Alamosa seniors Bailey Garcia (P/OF/3B/SS), Skyler Timmins (3B/P/OF), Matt Benavidez (catcher) and Kevin Gutierrez (OF) as the majority of the leading honorees.

Alamosa's Garcia was named Player-of-the-Year, giving the Mean Moose (15-8 overall, 6-2 IML) a sweep of the Intermountain's supreme superlatives. He was also later the league's lone representative on the Denver Post's All-3A crew, receiving Second Team status. The accolades are no small part due to Garcia's unexpected standout pitching in a close loss to top-seeded Eaton up in Greeley in the state championship series.

[First Team choice Devlin Granberg, a senior shortstop at Broomfield Holy Family, was named the classification's Player-of-the-Year after helping the Tigers to a 24-1 finish-including two Series defeats of EHS, the second securing the season's ultimate prize.the State Championship.]

Also named First Team All-IML were: Pagosa Springs juniors Luke DeVooght (OF/IF/P), Tyler Manzanares (P/2B) and Caden Henderson (P/C/SS); Centauri seniors Jason Buhr (C) and Clay McCarroll (SS); Monte Vista senior P/C Adrian Moreno.

Bayfield sophomore OF/P Taed Heydinger was the only Wolverine named Honorable Mention All-League, joining Alamosa's Brett Pearson (soph., OF/C) and Dalton Carleo (jr., 1B/P), PSHS' Dean Scott (sr., P/C/OF) and Austin Harker (jr., INF), CHS' Kurtis Shawcroft (sr., OF) and Kody Smith (sr., 1B), and MVHS' Luis Morales (soph., INF/P) and Dillon Martinez (jr., OF/P).